Options

Insufficient memory because of game data - not cache, clear data and game progress

jamofsocaljamofsocal Registered Users 8 Posts
I have CKS installed on my Samsung Galaxy S3. I have been playing for over two years now. According to my app manager, there is over 4 gigs of game data!! This is causing an INSUFFICIENT MEMORY warning on my phone.

I understand that clearing the "cache" is helpful sometimes to clear certain bugs and/or errors. But the "DATA" is different.

I have read in several threads that clearing the "data" will destroy my game progress. In other words, I would be starting over from the beginning. If that is true, then the games will require more and more memory as I continue to play.

Is this correct? Do I constantly need to free up memory space from other apps and delete other files just to continue playing CKS?

The other part I do not understand is why my progress is not kept on the server that is associated with either my GOOGLE PLAY account ID or my GLU ID. I thought our game progress was backed up on servers in the event that we lose our game device, we can recover once we install the game on the new device and login to our account.
Prev1

Comments

• Options
    amsoft2000amsoft2000 Registered Users 5,782 Posts
    Your game data is backed up on Google Play and GLU's servers as well so clearing your game data periodically is not only safe but recommended.

As always, before doing so ALWAYS take a full backup.
    Complex Minds Require Challenging Games ... SCORPION
  • Options
    try_againtry_again Registered Users 1,302 Posts
    On my older device, I find it helpful to delete the game after each time I level up. Then, after re-installing (I'm on Amazon version), the maps are deleted, maybe some of the countless weapon graphics that are never won too. But everything in my inventory comes back, and if I need to revisit an uncompleted map, just that map gets downloaded again.